It All Pays Off :)

I received a lovely comment from a gal named Delaney on my ask/comments page! Comments like these really warm my heart and make me happy that my work in allergy awareness is helping others feel more comfortable with their allergies. πŸ™‚ Here is the comment!

Hi Sydney! πŸ™‚

I just discovered your blog today, and I’m really enjoying reading your posts. I was diagnosed with anaphylaxis at a young age, and now I’m allergic to peanuts, tree nuts, sesame seeds and sunflower seeds. I’m going in to high school next year, and I’m a little bit nervous about having to educate new friends and teachers about the severity of anaphylaxis. I have advocated for myself in the past few years at school; I once explained to my principal that it is important for students with life-threatening allergies to have their own lockers, as opposed to sharing one with another student. Since then, all students with allergies at my school have been allowed to have their own locker πŸ™‚ I teach my class every year how to use the Epi-Pen, and I continue to educate those around me about how to keep people with anaphylaxis safe.

By reading your blog, I’ve seen that it is very possible for someone with anaphylaxis to advocate for themselves in a high school setting. I admire your perseverance…I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like to be allergic to foods like coconut! Your strength definitely serves as an inspiration to me to raise awareness for anaphylaxis next year at my new school, and it makes me want to help even more people who have allergies as well. I’m loving this blog and I hope that you continue with it for a long time, so that other young people with food allergies can see that life is possible even with the toughest allergies. πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for sharing your stories,
-Delaney πŸ™‚

** Thank you so much for this comment Delaney! Looking forward to how your high school experience is with allergies and I am always an ask box away if you have any questions!

2 thoughts on “It All Pays Off :)

  1. I too applaud you! Giving allergic youth a voice is so important for food allergy awareness. As a parent with two teenaged boys with multiple food allergies…I am grateful to hear what other allergic youth are thinking, doing and how they are advocating for themselves. Keep up the great work! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your kind words Susan! I love sharing my stories for allergic youth and parents of allergic youth! High school is not easy with food allergies but it is possible. πŸ™‚ Blogging is also a great way to vent and get all your frustrations out!

Leave a Reply

