Dealing With Negative Nelly’s

Feeling much better today post reaction, the days following epinephrine are usually rough. After I left the pool party yesterday it turns out there was some not so nice things said about me. These were along the lines of me overreacting and that I shouldn’t have taken my epipen. Luckily this information got back to me through a friend. Anyways without getting into too much details, this really upset me. I am so frustrated with people not believing me and saying my allergies are just me panicking. I knew what I was feeling and I knew I needed my epipen. That is all that matters.. I am 17 and well aware when I need to take action to save my life in the event of anaphylaxis. I am not going to let this negativity phase me, but what I am going to do is share some tips on how I deal with these types of people!

1. Surround yourself with people who support you and care about you! Don’t waste your time on friends, teachers, co-workers etc who down play your allergies!

2. This one is a bit tricky to do but if possible confront the person. If someone is downplaying your allergies they are most likely lacking awareness and knowledge of anaphylaxis. Educate them on allergies and why we have allergies! Make them realize the severity and that it is not just in our heads.

3. Believe in yourself! You are the one person who is living with your allergies and you know what you feel!

4. Remember that there is always going to be someone who doesn’t understand! Remember the teen term of “haters gonna hate”!

20130626-185711.jpg

20130626-185718.jpg

Hope these tips help you as they do me! I am at the point where if someone wants to not believe me I could care less! All I am focused on is healing and resting up!

18 thoughts on “Dealing With Negative Nelly’s

  1. Pingback: Why Don’t We Believe in Allergies? | allergyepisodes

  2. Ignorance and lack of education on anaphylaxis can unfortunately lead others to judge you. Sadly, not fitting into what the world views as the ‘norm’ makes one an easy target. Stay strong, be positive and keep believing in yourself! 🙂

  3. I’m glad you are being responsible and taking care of yourself. In the end, it doesn’t matter what others think. Many people just can’t understand because they have no experience!

  4. Great tips! We NEED to just stay away from people who doubt and downplay … instead of spending SO much time and energy trying to convince them and educate them. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Good for you! It’s wonderful to see you turn a negative around and help others too. I’ll teach these types to my daughter so she knows how to handle those who doubt how serious her reactions can be. Glad you are ok.

  6. I’m an adult with idiopathic anaphylaxis. I have decided that if I sit around and wait to figure out if I’m having a panic attack or an allergy attack, it may be too late! When I realized that my epipen wasn’t going to harm me if I took it when “I didn’t need it” I was very relieved. I hope you continue to do what’s best for you and remember that some people will go out of their way to “not get it.”

  7. I’m glad you have such a good attitude. 🙂 It’s a constant struggle, but you’re right! Awareness is the answer, and it’s also good grounds to forgive people for ignorance. 🙂

  8. I am a mom of a ten year old boy, his lfe threating allergy is all tree nuts. I will be sharing your blog with him. You are a true inspiration, so proud of you for taking care of yourself, and listening to your body. Let’s continue to educate…Great, positive attitude!!
    Helen

  9. Pingback: My Top 10! | A Tale Of Anaphylaxis

Leave a Reply

