Reaction-free in cottage country!

My post that I wrote for the YAP blog!

WhyRiskIt? Teen Allergy Blog

Summer vacation is all about relaxing and having fun with friends and family! During the summer, I visit my friends’ cottages and always have a great time. Spending all day on the lake, fishing, tubing, and having campfires, is what summer is all about. Of course, having allergies does involve some planning, but it’s totally worth it!

Two friends standing on the pier at the lake.

Here are some tips to have a reaction-free visit to a friend’s cottage:

  1. Always bring at least two epinephrine auto-injectors! When you’re away from home, it is always best to be prepared.
  2. Make sure you let your friend and their parents know about your allergies.  Before going away to a friend’s cottage, my parents and I always discuss my allergies with my friend and their parents. Informing them of my allergies and letting them know about my auto-injector really helps them feel more confident about me staying with them.
  3. Learn where the nearest…

View original post 144 more words

2 thoughts on “Reaction-free in cottage country!

Leave a Reply

