Happy 1st to A Tale Of Anaphylaxis! + an update on what I have been up to!

Hello, just wanted to update everyone on where I have been and what I have been up too! First of all this week marks a year ago that I started A Tale Of Anaphylaxis! Thank you so much for your continued support of my blog and I look forward to another year with all my amazing followers. This year thanks to you guys, I have received close to 10,000 blog views and over 550 twitter followers! That’s amazing. When I started this blog I had no idea how big it would become. I have had some awesome experiences and met some amazing people through this blog. Being able to share my allergy experiences has not only helped others but it has helped me. Receiving emails from followers all over the world has helped to solidify why I write this blog. I have written 87 blog posts this year and I can’t wait to write more this year. Thank you again and again.

I have been quite busy lately and haven’t had time to write much. I had a fabulous Christmas with family and have been working a lot this past month. In one of my past posts I talked about a co-op position that I wanted at the hospital! After a long interview process , I was offered the position and I accepted. Starting mid February I will be doing a half day co-op at my cities hospital, in the discharge lounge. Bring on the scrubs!! I should also be finding out this month if I got accepted to college. My senior year is going by so quickly and before I know it, I will be at prom and graduation.
I have also been busy preparing for exams and finishing my end of semester assignments.

I have big things planned for 2014 for my blog and also some exciting projects. More details to come! Anaphylaxis Canada’s Youth Advisory Panel is busy working on some secret projects, we also have some crazy projects planned for this year. Will you be attending the teen workshop may 10th in Toronto. I attended last year and it is a great experience and a way to connect with other teens who are going through the same things. I will definitely be there this year and hope I can meet some of you. Luckily I haven’t had any serious reactions since September (knock on wood). The last couple weeks my immune system has been all out of whack and I had some days with mild reactions and lots of hives. Note to self: never take drowsy Benadryl and then go to school. That was a pretty rough day for me! Haha! I have been sick this past week with a intestinal blockage and have been in and out of the hospital. But, I am slowly getting better!

Enjoy your weekend and I will be up and writing soon. Happy 1st birthday to A Tale Of Anaphylaxis!

20140131-111312.jpg

7 thoughts on “Happy 1st to A Tale Of Anaphylaxis! + an update on what I have been up to!

  1. Congratulations! You have achieved so much in your first year of blogging.

    As a mother of two teenage boys with food allergies…I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about food allergies from an outside teenage perspective. Although we are all on our own food allergy journeys…reading the experiences of others enables us all to reflect on our own lives and know that we are not alone in our travels.

    I look forward to all that you have yet to share.

    P.S. Congrats on the co-op…great hands-on experience for you. Fingers crossed you receive an acceptance at the college of choice. My eldest son has already heard back from 2 of the 3 universities he hopes to attend in the fall. He plans to live away from home…this will be quite the journey for all us…his ‘journey of independence’ and mine of ‘letting go’. 🙂

    • So exciting about the university acceptances. So many changes coming in the fall for both of us. My stomach feels nervous just thinking of all the new challenges I will face! My sister left for university last year and it was a big change for our family. I can imagine what you are going through, as my mom went through the same thing with letting go of her baby (who has also recently developed allergies). thank you for your continued support and comments throughout my first year of blogging, I really appreciate it! I look forward to hearing from you throughout my second year and wish your son the best of luck. Will you be attending the anaphylaxis conference this May 10th in Toronto??

      • Yes, I am planning to attend the May 10th Anaphylaxis Conference…just have to purchase my ticket. Finally a year that it does not conflict with previous plans. Will you be attending as part of the Advisory Panel for the morning workshop for teens? Not sure that my boys will be attending. I look forward to meeting you. 🙂

  2. Hope you feel better soon!
    Wow you have been busy, that’s great!
    Me too! Joined a new club an started a new business I hope to build up big. It helps so many people including me!
    Check out my blog when you have time😃
    Hope your immune system gets better soon, sending hugs!
    Donnalou

    • Hey Donnalou! Nice to ear from you, excited to hear about what you are working on! Going to go check out your blog now. Hope all is well with you in the allergy department and not to many reactions. Hope its nice and warm in Florida! Talk soon!

Leave a comment